website statistics
Jump to content

Men's Ice Hockey IIHF World Championship 2024


Recommended Posts

Qualified Nations

Group A

  • AUT.gif Austria
  • CAN.gif Canada
  • CZE.gif Czechia
  • DEN.gif Denmark
  • FIN.gif Finland
  • GBR.gif Great Britain
  • NOR.gif Norway
  • SUI.gif Switzerland

Group B

  • FRA.gif France
  • GER.gif Germany
  • KAZ.gif Kazakhstan
  • LAT.gif Latvia
  • POL.gif Poland
  • SVK.gif Slovakia
  • SWE.gif Sweden
  • USA.gif United States


2023 Championships Results


Men's Ice Hockey IIHF World Championship 2023


Men's Ice Hockey IIHF Division I Group A World Championship 2023


Tournament Format


The 16 teams are divided into two groups for the Preliminary Round played in a single round robin.

The top-four ranked teams of each group advance to the quarter-finals that will be played cross-over. The first-place team in each preliminary-round group plays the fourth-place team of the other group, while the second-place team plays the third-place team of the other group. 1A-4B, 2A-3B, 1B-4A, 2B-3A.

The venues and time slots of the quarter-final games will officially be determined following the conclusion of the preliminary round.

In the semi-finals the best-ranked team - criteria: 1) placement in the group, 2) points in the preliminary round, 3) goal difference in the preliminary round, 4) goals scored in the preliminary round, 5) seeding coming into the tournament - will play against the lowest-ranked semi-finalist. The 2nd-best ranked semi-finalist will play the 3rd-best ranked semi-finalist. Both semi-final games will be played in Prague. The time slots will officially be determined after the quarter-final games.

The winning teams of the semi-final games advance to the gold medal game while the semi-final losing teams play for bronze.

Relegation format

The Last ranked Nations (8th) of both Preliminary Round Groups will be relegated to the 2025 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division I Group A.


Preliminary Round Schedule

Standing Link

Knockout Round Schedule


Standing Link

Edited by hckošice
Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, Monzanator said:

So, it's known what group :POL plays next year already? Let's see if we can beat France at least :p

It seems that it will be in Ostrava together with Slovakia, Sweden, USA, one of the Canada/Finland. But i do not remember the others.

In Prague: Czechia, Canada/Finland, Austria, Switzerland i think, Norway Denmark, GB.

But there is still option to change one team from one group to other group. But i am pretty sure that Poland and Slovakia will stay in Ostrava.

If i remember correctly today there will will be known final groups.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Based on wish, Czechia decided to change Canada for USA to Prague. Based on agreement, there is chance that some Canadian stars will come to WCH and to Prague Is better chance that they will come 

Edited by stepansevs
Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 hours ago, hckošice said:



A - Ostrava


:USA United States

:SWE Sweden

:GER Germany

:SVK Slovakia

:LAT Latvia

:FRA France

:KAZ Kazakhstan

:POL Poland


B - Prague


:CAN Canada

:FIN Finland

:SUI Switzerland

:CZE Czechia

:DEN Denmark

:NOR Norway

:AUT Austria

:GBR Great Britain

So at the end, the organizing committee provided only one change. Canada and USA switched the groups. :CAN to Prague, USA to Ostrava


Updated groups HERE

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Create New...