website statistics

Wrestling Qualification to Summer Olympic Games Paris 2024 Road to Paris 2024

Totallympics

• 1 year later...
24 minutes ago, Laraja said:

Changes for wrestling. Not sure what really was changed here. @JoshMartini007@Sindo

I think they mean "changes" comparing from Tokyo 2020 qualifiation system, not from the previous Paris 2024 system already uploaded on the IOC website. I see no changes there.

• 8 months later...
  • 2 months later...
1 hour ago, Benolympique said:

The document looks the same for me. Was something updated in the text?

• 5 weeks later...
14 hours ago, rafalgorka said:

Why are the weight categories different in M freestyle and greco? I don’t get it.

They are just different disciplines, like the competitions in Kayak and Canoe boats in Canoeing Sprint/Slalom.

I am not an expert on it, but in Greco you can't attack the legs of your opponent, and in freestyle it's allowed. They may have other differences, but @MHSNcan give you a better answer.

8 minutes ago, Laraja said:

They are just different disciplines, like the competitions in Kayak and Canoe boats in Canoeing Sprint/Slalom.

I am not an expert on it, but in Greco you can't attack the legs of your opponent, and in freestyle it's allowed. They may have other differences, but @MHSNcan give you a better answer.

yeah, but this isn't the question

they used to have the same weight classes for Freestyle and Greco-Roman Wrestling until a few years ago (2012, if I remember correctly), but then a brilliant mind came up with the decision to have different weight in the 2 disciplines, as if it would make any difference :facepalm:

basically, they used the excusation that GR is more a European affair and the average weight of European people is heavier than for instance the average Asians, where most Freestyle Nations come from