web
analytics
Jump to content
mrv86

Diving Qualification to Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympic Games

Recommended Posts

I cannot make out what the position is for the winner of the Continental competition, if she/he has already gained a place in the World Champs - does the NOC get another place (subject to not already having two), even though it is the same diver, or does it go to the next NOC/diver not yet qualified?  And why is it so difficult?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, Cmon Mary said:

I cannot make out what the position is for the winner of the Continental competition, if she/he has already gained a place in the World Champs - does the NOC get another place (subject to not already having two), even though it is the same diver, or does it go to the next NOC/diver not yet qualified?  And why is it so difficult?

 

If I read correctly, the winner of the continental competitions will only gain a quota if they're not already qualified in that event.

In case they are, that quota gets transfered to the World Cup.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fair enough mrv86, thanks for that.  That makes sense, although it would be better if they made that explicit in the wording.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

FINA doesn't have it written on what happens to the redistributed quota if an athlete competes in both diving apparatuses. In 2016 Woo Ha-ram's quota was counted for the 10m Platform as was interestingly enough Patrick Hausding whom competed in both synchronized events and the 3m springboard, but not the individual 10m platform.

Edited by JoshMartini007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
49 minutes ago, Cmon Mary said:

Two excerpts from the Qualification document.  First:

 

"Section B3. Type of Allocation of Quota Places:

The quota place is allocated to the NOC."

 

Second:

 

"Section F. Reallocation of Quota Places

If an athlete who has obtained a quota place in accordance with FINA Rule BL 9.3.8.3.1 has not been entered to the Olympic Games, the quota place shall be reallocated to the next highest placed NOC from the respective event, at the FINA Diving World Cup 2020, not yet qualified "

 

Is it the athlete or the NOC?  So, if Tom Daley of GBR fell ill and couldn't make Tokyo, would it be another diver from GB or the next NOC from the Diving World Cup?

 

FINA Rule BL 9.3.8.3.1 says it's quota for NF/NOC. I would read it that way - the athlete mentioned in the quoted Section F. is ANY athlete from the NOC that obtained a quota.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Updated as of September 8th, 2019

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...